productronica | Weltleitmesse Entwicklung Fertigung Elektronik



And the winner is…

The winners of the second productronica innovation award were announced on the first day of productronica 2017: An independent panel of jury selected the most innovative products and solutions from almost 60 submissions.

For Falk Senger, Managing Director of Messe München, the award is an important stimulus for the industry: “Electronics production stands at the beginning of the value chain for tomorrow‘s electronics—here, new technologies are developed and significantly promoted. The numerous submissions show how much innovative power there is in this industry.” The productronica innovation award is the first independent award in the electronics manufacturing industry and is awarded in close cooperation with the trade journal Productronic (Hüthig Verlag).

The winners of the 2nd productronica innovation award 2017 were:


Winner, Semiconductors cluster:

LPKF for its Vitrion 5000: Laser Induced Deep Etching (LIDE) — Cutting Mode

Kai Bentz, Executive Board Spokesperson of LPKF Laser & Electronics: We are very pleased to be honored with the Innovation Award of productronica for the Laser Induced Deep Etching (LIDE). An interdisciplinary team was involved in the development of this technology and its associated laser system LPKF Vitrion 5000, which has discovered a way to modify ultra-thin glass substrate with only one laser pulse over the entire glass thickness. The glass remains free of microcracks or stress. This milestone paves the way for many industrial applications of thin glass as a cost-effective material: in microfluidics, in display manufacturing, in MEMS technology, and especially in chip manufacturing.“


Winner, Future Markets cluster:

Acculogic for its Battery Array Tester

Farouk Eshragi, Managing Director of Acculogic GmbH: „We are very happy with the recognition that our Battery Array Tester has received with the productronica innovation award 2017. We are proud that we can contribute with our system to developments in the field of electric mobility, but also solar energy, for example, for an emission-free future.“


Winner, PCB & EMS cluster:

Nano Dimension for the Dragonfly 2020 Pro: 3D-Printer for Printed electronics

Simon Fried, co-founder of Nano Dimensions: „We are very proud to have won the award. The DragonFly system is a phenomenal tool that enables electronics professionals to keep pace with the ever-increasing demand for new equipment.“


Winner, Cables, Coils & Hybrids cluster:

Komax for its Sylade 7H: handheld laser wire stripper

Matijas Meyer, Komax CEO: “With this year‘s productronica innovation award, we have once again been able to demonstrate our innovative strength. The award for Sylade, a development of our subsidiary Laselec, is the result of our partnership with numerous experts. The two additional nominations are a clear sign that we can develop outstanding solutions across the entire value chain of automated wire processing thanks to cross-sector thinking. As a result, we have optimum prerequisites to lead this market in the future too.”


Winner, SMT Cluster:

Juki Automation Systems with G-Titan: Opti-Paste Control (OPC)  & Quality-Print Control (QPC)

Jens Mirau, President of Juki Automation Systems: JUKI is proud to obtain this year‘s innovation award for the G-TITAN. The G-Titan is now in the starting blocks as the 3rd generation of the screen printers from JUKI and is celebrating its European premiere at productronica 2017.


Winner, Inspection & Quality Cluster

Viscom with X7056-II: 3D-AXI

Volker Pape, Executive Board of Viscom AG:  „Our employees are very happy about winning the productronica innovation award for our X-ray system X 7056-II.“ The award shows in no uncertain terms that Viscom again is at the top in the X-ray technology field thanks to future-oriented solutions for electronics manufacturing. Our quest for perfection for our customers is aimed at contributing to sustainable quality and process assurance thanks to the best possible inspection results.“


The submissions had been assessed by a top-class jury consisting of:

  • Professor Klaus-Dieter Lang, Fraunhofer IZM
  • Professor Mathias Nowottnick, University of Rostock
  • Dr. Heinz Wohlrabe, TU Dresden
  • Professor Lothar Pfitzner, Fraunhofer IISB
  • Daniel Müller, VDMA
  • Christoph Stoppok, ZVEI

With productronica 2019, we will continue our success story. Who will hold the 2019 trophy in their hands?